Crone thoughts ……

Published April 21, 2013 by etain1

Crone thoughts and questions!

The news is filled with violence. The latest was the bombing at the Boston Marathon and I wonder just where we are going wrong with how we are teaching our children. I have been doing a lot of thinking about this and there are a couple of things that stick out in my head. One being the lack of parental involvement with their children and the other is the constant bombardment of violence through the TV and gaming.

Times are tough with the economy being as it is and money is short for everyone. Mothers are out in the work force trying to makes ends meet. When they get home their work does not end there as there is laundry, meals to cook, and other household task to complete. I understand where the TV or other gaming equipment is almost a blessing as the children can be doing something while the chores are being done. On the other hand what are they learning?

Kids are on the computer, cell phone, and other gaming devices too much in my opinion. OK so I am part of a different generation however what I see is there is little face-to-face interaction with others. Example, I took my adult daughter out to dinner and she immediately started texting one of her co-workers. The first time it happened I let it slide. The second time not so much. I said I invited you here to catch up on your life and obviously it is not happening so you either put that phone silence or I am paying for the meal and leaving. It shocked her! She did put the phone on silence and we had a nice meal with lots of talking.

My grandchildren are on the computer all the time playing games – you know the kind. The shoot them up, blow them up, kill them type of games. Now to me it does not take a rocket scientist to figure out that after a while it desensitizes them about killing and hurting others. It no longer stirs up feeling of remorse or sadness but brings elation when destroying and killing. Is there something wrong with this picture?

It is time we take a stand and invest in our children. Get back to basics and teach them compassion and caring techniques. Talk to them while doing task around the house – heck they can learn as they help you complete the task. Take them outdoor and get them involved in activities that do not include cell phones, gaming, and other electronic devices. Nature has much to offer but I do admit it takes time on your part to have this happen. Face-to-face communication skills are not just about talking, it’s about interactions, sharing, learning and yes caring.

If you don’t take the time to interact with your children then who will …… believe me there are plenty out there that are will to do just that however there is a price to pay and that price may be connected to gangs, violence, and killing.

 

 

Leave a Reply

